Home » Events Around Town » Elizabeth Benedict at Westport Library this Sunday 2-3 p.m.

Elizabeth Benedict at Westport Library this Sunday 2-3 p.m.

Categories

A personal note from Jessica Bram

Elizabeth benedictWhen I first noticed a photo of Elizabeth Benedict on the cover of her first novel, Slow Dancing, and recognized her as my high school friend Liz who worked on the literary magazine with me, something felt not quite right.  Liz was a year behind me.  How could she have published a book before I did? Not fair!

elizabethbenedict 2My initial annoyance (at myself, of course, not her) has since turned to pride that my friend Liz had turned out to be the accomplished and highly regarded author Elizabeth Benedict.  Aside from having Slow Dancing shortlisted for the National Book Award, she went on to publish four more novels, a classic book, The Joy of Writing Sex, which is used widely in writing programs, along with hundreds of other reviews, articles, and her last anthology Mentors, Muses & Monsters: 30 Writers on the People Who Changed Their Lives (November 2009 Free Press/Simon & Schuster).

All this is to say that I hope to see you at the Westport Public Library this Sunday where Liz will be speaking about her new book …Of course it’s the perfect Mother’s Day gift.
Author Elizabeth Benedict on What My Mother Gave Me: Thirty-one Women on the Gifts That Mattered Most
Sunday, Apr 21, 2013 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM
For more information click here.
